Members of the Board

Ron Farrell - Board Chair

(Term: April 2017 to April 2020)

As the former Chair of the North East CCAC Board, Farrell brings with him extensive governance and health care experience, particularly in the home and community sector. He recently also served on the Council of Ontario College of Pharmacists and on the Board of the Ontario Association of Community Care Access Centres. Farrell has been involved in community health care for more than 20 years, holding a wide range of senior positions with federal, provincial and territorial governments as well as the private sector. Change management in large organizations occupied more than half his career. He retired as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Order of Nurses of Canada and started a Chapter of CARP for Zoomers centered in North Bay and serving 4,000 members from Bracebridge to Kapuskasing. With the Canadian Red Cross he was Director General, Atlantic Zone, National Director of Strategic and Operational Planning and Chief Information Officer. Prior to that he held the position of President and CEO of the Worker's Compensation Health and Safety Board and senior positions with the Territorial government.

Kim T. Morris - Vice-Chair

(Term: July 2017 to July 2020)

Born and raised in the Sudbury area, Kim Morris graduated from Laurentian University with a BA in Political Science and also holds a Masters in Communications Management from McMaster University. Kim is presently the Dean of the School of Health Sciences at Collège Boréal. Prior to that, Kim was the Director of Communications and Public Affairs at the North-East Community Care Access Centre, and Manager of Communications and Administrative services at the Conseil scolaire catholique du Nouvel-Ontario. Kim is presently Chair of the Heads of Health Sciences of Ontario, and Member of the Comité du Plan de ressources humaines en santé en français en Ontario. Kim also served as Vice-Chair and more recently Chair of the North East CCAC, and is Past- President of the Réseau de Santé du Moyen-Nord de l’Ontario.

Petra Wall

(Term: September 2017 to September 2020)

Petra Wall, of Spring Bay a community on Manitoulin Island, brings extensive health care experience grounded in community, as well as a decade of working with and learning from Anishinabe people on Manitoulin Island.With a Master of (Health) Science in Administration (MSA), Wall has worked as a Registered Dietitian for the Manitoulin Health Centre and in Wikwemikong, as well as in long term care homes on Manitoulin Island, Elliot Lake and Espanola. Wall also brings to the Board considerable leadership experience having served as Executive Director of Noojmowin Teg Health Centre and Wikwemikong Health Centre. Wall’s community involvement is diverse spanning from economic development, as Chair of NEMI (Northeastern Manitoulin and the Island) Community Development Corporation, to arts organizations, such as Debajehmujig Theatre Group, to home and community care, as a former board member of North East Community Care Access Centre.

Anne Stewart

(Term: September 2017 to September 2020)

Anne Stewart’s extensive experience working in public health and her ability to analyze scientific research will be an asset to the North East LHIN Board as it work with the region’s public health units to improve population health. In 2007, Stewart moved to Pointe Au Baril as an environmental health consultant, educator and entrepreneur. Prior to that, she worked with Toronto Public Health as Public Health Inspector for close to a decade and recently completed a contract with its Community Food Works Program. In addition, she brings to the Board years in project management from her work as a general contractor and governance experience that includes serving as a member of the Parry Sound and Area Food Collaborative and Bayfield-Nares Islanders’ Association’s Water Committee Chair. Recently, through her consultant work and volunteer commitments, she has focused on initiatives that improve health, including clean drinking water.

Mark Palumbo

(Term: April 2017 to April 2020)

Mark Palumbo brings a background in community pharmacy as pharmacist and owner of the Dowling Pharmacy for more than four decades, as well as, extensive governance experience having served on numerous health care, arts, and economic development boards including: City of Lakes Family Health Team, Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Records (FACTOR), Chair of Music Film and Motion (MFM), and President of the Sudbury Regional Development Corporation.

Betty Stone

(Term: April 2017 to April 2020)

A university graduate, and retired teacher, Betty has as a volunteer more than four decades of involvement with multiple organizations at the governance level. These involvements specifically pertained to the enhancement of quality of life for all citizens, but most particularly those citizens with challenges. Her experience with these multiple Boards of Governance at the municipal, regional, provincial, and national levels, has confirmed to her the value of the development of generic, intentional, inclusionary collaborative partnerships. She firmly believes that the uniqueness of the North requires the solutions for the North are to be found in the North. 

Denis Bérubé

(Term: November 2017 to November 2020)

Denis Bérubé, a Francophone, brings an extensive economic development knowledge of the Cochrane District, as well as a long history of leading organizations in a governance role to the North East LHIN Board. He lives in the community of Moonbeam, located near Kapuskasing where he works as the Executive Director of the North Claybelt Community Futures Development Corporation -- a position he has held since 2000. Prior to that, Bérubé worked for the North Cochrane District Family Services as a camp director and social worker.

Bérubé’s extensive governance experience pulls in many organizations including his present positions as Chair of NEOnet (North Eastern Ontario Communication Network), Chair of the Kapuskasing Lumberjack Heritage Festival, and Past-Chair of the Ontario Association of Community Futures Development Corporation.  He also served for six years on the Board of Governors for Northern College which ended this past September with his position as First Vice-Chair. In addition, Bérubé has served on the Sensenbrenner Hospital Board and chaired the Caisse Populaire de Kapuskasing Board.  

John Febbraro

(Term: December 2015 to December 2018)

John Febbraro brings a remarkable skill set to the North East LHIN Board that includes economic development, strategic planning, quality management, financial management, as well as an ability to develop and sustain partnerships.

He is currently the Director of Business Development for the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation (SSMEDC), a position which he has held for 15 years. Prior to joining the SSMEDC, John was President of a small business consulting group in Sault Ste. Marie that was heavily involved in business consulting and developing quality management systems. He has also held positions in Ottawa with the Canadian Space Agency and EH Industries in a program management capacity. John’s governance experience and community involvement spans many organizations, including serving on the Algoma Residential Community Hospice (ARCH) Board, a member of the Transportation Infrastructure Committee, and President of the Algoma Canadian Cancer Society.